Jennifer Renz was pregnant with twins, but when her daughter Grace was born 12 weeks premature and only weighed in at 1lb 13oz doctors decided to leave the second baby in the womb until he came out on his own rather than induce him to arrive at the same time as Grace.

Noah was born one week later weighing in at 2lbs 15 oz.

The twins are currently being held in the intensive unit at Rainbow Babies and Children’s Hospital in Cleveland, Ohio.

Jennifer said about the split twin pregnancy:

“Throughout the week when Noah was still in utero, I had to remind myself that I was still pregnant at times because I had one baby that I was visiting, and I would feel the other one inside.”

A spokesperson for the Twins and Multiple Births Association said:

“This is rare – we have come across cases where twins were born apart but the gap has always been less than two days.”

